Property Management requirements in Connecticut

Must a Connecticut property management company have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management are considered a real estate activity under existing Connecticut real estate licensing laws. A broker's license is required for any person or company that, for compensation, rents or offers or attempts to negotiate the rental of an estate or interest in real estate, or collects or offers or attempts to collect rent for the use of real estate. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Connecticut property manager have a broker's license?

YES. For example, on-site managers who are employees of the owner are exempt if they do not engage in specified activities.

For more information about these and other Connecticut property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Connecticut rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Connecticut property managers at the State of Connecticut’s eLicensing website.

Connecticut Community and Homeowner's Association Manager Licensing

There is no requirement that a community or condo association manager in Connecticut hold a real estate broker's license. However, community association managers must register with the state.

A "community association manager" is someone who provides association management services, which include collecting, controlling or disbursing funds of the association or having the authority to do so, preparing budgets or other financial documents for the association, assisting in the conduct of or conducting association meetings, advising or assisting the association in obtaining insurance, coordinating or supervising the overall operations of the association, or advising the association on the overall operations of the association. Directors, officers or members of the association are not required to meet this requirement.

For more information about the CAM license, please contact the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Community Association Manager Page.

Connecticut Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

Connecticut real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Education: 60 classroom hours - Principles and Practices of Real Estate; 30 classroom hours - Appraisal I; 30 classroom hours - Elective real estate related course
  • Experience: Two years licensed real estate experience
  • Exam: Successful completion of broker's exam
  • Trustworthiness: Licenses are granted only to persons who "bear a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness and fair dealing..."

    NOTE: Applications are valid for one year.

    Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    Connecticut real estate salesperson license requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Education: 60 classroom hours (Real Estate Principles and Practices) at an approved institution
  • Exam: Successful completion of salesperson's exam
  • Trustworthiness: Licenses are granted only to persons who "bear a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness and fair dealing..."

    NOTE: Applications are valid for one year.

    Connecticut Community Association Manager Registration

    Registration of community association managers is required in Connecticut. The Application for Registration requires information from the applicant including:

  • Name and Address of applicant
  • Whether the applicant holds a professional or occupational license
  • Whether a license or registration has ever been refused or suspended in Connecticut or the District of Columbia
  • Whether the applicant has ever been convicted or is now under arrest for any offenses related to the applicant's trustworthiness

    Applications to register as a community association manager are available online at the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Community Association Manager Page.

    The fee is $60 application fee plus $200 initial license fee.

    For more information about these and other Connecticut licensing requirements, please contact the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •