Property Management requirements in Kansas

Must Kansas property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

IT DEPENDS. Key components of property management (renting and leasing) are considered real estate activities under existing Kansas real estate licensing laws as they apply to nonresidential property only. Therefore, a real estate broker's license is not required if the property being rented out or leased is a residential property. A license is required if the property is commercial. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Kansas property manager of a commercial property have a real estate broker's license?

YES. For example, if that property manager owns 5% or greater in the business or association that owns the commercial property, a real estate broker's license is not required.

For more information about these and other Kansas property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Kansas Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Kansas rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Kansas property managers by name or by company.

Must Kansas community association managers have a real estate broker's license?

NO. A broker's license is not required to manage community associations or condo associations in Kansas.

Kansas Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

Kansas real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be 18 or more years of age
  • High School: must have high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Trustworthiness: submit finger prints and submit to background check
  • Education: must pass 24-hour Broker's Pre-License course approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission
  • Exam: must pass general and state portions of the Kansas licensing examination within 12 months of the course completion date
  • Experience: must be licensed as a salesperson in Kansas, or as a salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction, and ACTIVELY ENGAGED in activities which require a license in Kansas for at least two years during the last five years
  • Application: must be filed within 6 months of passing the exam

    Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    Kansas real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be 18 or more years of age
  • High School: must have high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Trustworthiness: submit finger prints and submit to background check
  • Education: must pass 30-hour Salesperson's Pre-License course approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission
  • Exam: must pass general and state portions of the Kansas licensing examination within 12 months of the course completion date
  • Application: must be filed within 6 months of passing the exam

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements please contact the Kansas Real Estate Commission.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •