Property Management requirements in Nebraska

Must Nebraska property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (renting, leasing and collecting rents) are considered real estate activities under existing Nebraska real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease, rent, list, collect rents, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Nebraska property manager have a property management license?

Yes. For example, on-site residential managers of apartment buildings are exempt if the leasing of the property is in connection with their employment.

For more information about these and other Nebraska property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Nebraska Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Nebraska rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Nebraska property managers at the Licensee and Applicant Information Search.

Nebraska Community Association Management Licensing

NO. A broker's license is not required to manage community associations or condo associations in Nebraska.

Nebraska Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

Nebraska real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 19 years of age
  • High School: high school diploma or GED
  • Education: 180 hours (6 courses) in Pre-License Coursesor 120 hours (4 courses) in Pre-License Courses and 2 yrs full-time Salesperson Experience or part-time equivalent
  • Exam: Pass the Nebraska Real Estate Examination with a score of 75%
  • Insurance: Proof of Errors and Omissions insurance
  • Trustworthiness: provide current criminal history report
  • Approval of Application

    Nebraska Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    Nebraska real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 19 years of age
  • High School: high school diploma or GED
  • Education: 60 hours (2 courses) of pre-license education
  • Exam: Pass the Nebraska Real Estate Examination with a score of 75%
  • Trustworthiness: provide current criminal history report

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements, please contact the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. Specific information about licensing, including forms, can be found at the Commission's Licensing and Forms webpage.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •