Property Management requirements in New Jersey

Must New Jersey property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (renting, leasing and collecting rent) are considered real estate activities under existing New Jersey real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to rent, list, collect rents, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a New Jersey property manager have a real estate broker's license?

There are only limited exceptions to the requirement. For example, a bona-fide property owner is exempt as to their own property.

For more information about these and other New Jersey property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the New Jersey Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your New Jersey rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of New Jersey property managers at the Commission's Real Estate Licensee Search.

New Jersey Community Association Management Licensing

A broker's license is required to manage community associations in New Jersey only if the manager is renting, leasing, selling or advertising.

New Jersey Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

New Jersey real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: 18 years of age or older
  • High School: must be a high school graduate or equivalent
  • Trustworthiness: must provide evidence of good moral character
  • Exam: must pass the real estate broker examination
  • Experience: must have worked as a salesperson full-time for three years immediately preceding the date of application
  • Education: must pass 90 hour pre-licensure course at an approved school

    New Jersey Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    New Jersey real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: 18 years of age or older
  • High School: must be a high school graduate or equivalent
  • Trustworthiness: must provide evidence of good moral character
  • Exam: must pass the real estate salesperson examination
  • Education: must pass 75 hour pre-licensure course at an approved school

    Please note that New Jersey does not have reciprocity with any other state.

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements, please contact the New Jersey Real Estate Commission. Specific information about licensing may be found at the Commission's Licensing and Education webpage.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •