Property Management requirements in North Dakota

Must North Dakota property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. A key component of property management (leasing) is considered a real estate activity under existing North Dakota real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease, list, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities. However, if a property manager is not engaged in leasing activities, a real estate broker's license is not required.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a North Dakota property manager have a real estate broker's license?

YES. For example, bona fide owner of residential property and their regular employees are exempt when their work is in the regular course of or as an incident to the management of the property.

For more information about these and other North Dakota property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the North Dakota Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your North Dakota rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of North Dakota property managers using the Commission's License Search Page.

North Dakota Community Association Management Licensing

There is no requirement that a community association manager or condo association manager in North Dakota hold a real estate broker's license.

North Dakota Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

North Dakota real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Experience: must have been actively engaged as a licensed real estate salesperson for a period of at least two years preceding the date of application OR had had experience as determined by the commission to be substantially equal to that which a licensed real estate salesperson would ordinarily receive during a two year period.
  • Education: must show proof of 60 hours of Commission approved study prior to examination
  • Exam: must pass the real estate broker examination
  • Insurance: must provide proof of errors and omissions insurance
  • Fees: $120 application fee; $120 renewal fee

    North Dakota Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    North Dakota real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Education: must show proof of 45 hours of Commission approved study prior to receiving license; in addition 15 hours of post license education are required
  • Exam: must pass the real estate salespersons examination
  • Insurance: must provide proof of errors and omissions insurance
  • Fees: $100 application fee; $100 renewal fee

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements, please contact the North Dakota Real Estate Commission. Specific information about obtaining a North Dakota real estate license is available online.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •