Property Management requirements in Oregon

Must Oregon property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

NO. Oregon is one of the few states that provides for a separate property management license option for property managers. Real estate brokers and salespeople (working under a broker) may also engage in property management. If a property manager is going to (for compensation) lease, rent, list, solicit for prospective tenants, solicit listings of places for rent or lease, or negotiate or attempt to negotiate to perform any of those acts, he or she will need a real estate license or a property managers license.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a property manager have a real estate broker's license or a property manager's license?

YES. For example, non-licensed individuals who are full time employees of a single owner of real estate, are exempt as to the property owned if the activity is incidental to the employee's normal, non real estate activities.

For more information about these and other Oregon property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Oregon Real Estate Agency..

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Oregon rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Oregon property managers using the state's Licensee Search webpage.

Must Oregon community association managers have a real estate broker's license?

NO. A broker's license is not required to manage community associations or condo associations in Oregon.

Oregon Property Manager Licensing Requirements

Oregon property manager licensing requirements include:

  • Trustworthiness: good moral character; must submit fingerprints and criminal background check
  • Age: must be 18 years of age or older
  • High School: must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Education: must complete 60 hours of pre-license property manager education
  • Exam: must pass the property manager license exam (fee is $75)

    Oregon Principal Broker Licensing Requirements

    Oregon principal broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years old
  • High School: must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Trustworthiness: good moral character; must submit fingerprints and criminal background check
  • Experience: must have 3 years of active real estate experience
  • Education: must submit evidence of successful completion of 40 hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course
  • Exam: must pass the principal broker examination

    Oregon Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

    Oregon real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years old
  • High School: must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Trustworthiness: good moral character; must submit fingerprints and criminal background check
  • Education: must submit evidence of successful completion of 150 hours of required pre-license education
  • Exam: must pass the broker examination

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements, please contact the Oregon Real Estate Agency. Specific information about licensing is available online.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •