Property Management requirements in Utah
Must Utah property management companies have a real estate broker's license?
YES. Property management is expressly considered a real estate activity under existing Utah real estate licensing laws, and requires a broker's license. A Broker license is required for any individual who, for another and for valuable consideration, engages in property management including advertising real estate for lease or rent, procuring prospective tenants or lessees, negotiating lease or rental terms, executing lease or rental agreements. A Sales Agent working for a Broker may also engage in such acts.
Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Utah property manager hold a real estate brokers license?
YES. The licensing requirement does not apply to an owner who manages his or her own property, an employee for one property owner, apartment managers who reside in the apartments at reduced rent, full-time salaried employees of a Homeowners Association, hotel or motel management, or management activities associated with rental accommodations for a period of less than 30 consecutive days.
Before hiring a property manager to manage your Utah rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Utah property managers using their Licensee Info Search tool.
Utah Community Association Management Licensing
There is no requirement that a Utah community association manager or condo association manager hold a real estate broker's license.
Utah Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements
Utah real estate broker licensing requirements include:
- Age: must be at least 18 years of age
- High School: must be high school graduate or equivalent
- Trustworthiness: must meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency. An applicant does NOT qualify for a real estate license if he or she has any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.
- Experience: have at least three years of real estate experience, including specified experience set forth by the Commission, as evidenced in Broker Transaction Log or Property Management Transaction Log
- Education: successfully complete 120 hours of approved education at a certified Real Estate Pre-License School, consisting of:
- Utah Law: 30 hours
- Broker Principles: 45 hours
- Broker Practices: 45 hours
- Exam: take and pass the Broker exam.
- Fee: $158 total non-refundable fee
Utah Real Estate Sales Agent Licensing Requirements
Utah real estate sales agent licensing requirements include:
For more information about these and other licensing requirements and exceptions, please contact the Utah Division of Real Estate. Specific information about real estate licensing is available online.
IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.