Property Management requirements in Virginia

Must Virginia property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (leasing and renting) are considered real estate activities under existing Virginia real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease or offer to lease, or rent or offer for rent, any real estate or improvement on real estate, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Virginia property manager hold a real estate broker's license?

YES. For example, regularly salaried employees of property owners are exempt if they limit their activities to showing units, providing factual information about the lease and accepting applications, security deposits and rents.

For more information about these and other Virginia property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Virginia Real Estate Board.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Virginia rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Virginia property managers using their Licensee Lookup and Disciplinary Action Tool.

Virginia Community Association Management Licensing

Virginia recently implemented a licensure program for community association management companies. Any firm offering services as a common interest community manager must be licensed.

For more information about these and other Virginia community management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Virginia Real Estate Board.

Before hiring a community association or condo association manager to manage your Virginia common interest community, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Virginia community association managers using their Licensee Lookup and Disciplinary Action Tool.

Virginia Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements:

Virginia real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years old
  • High School: must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Education: must complete 180 hours of education
  • Exam: must pass the State and National Portions of the broker examination. Exam fee is $60.
  • Experience: must have been actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 out of the 48 months preceding application for licensure

    Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements:

    Virginia real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years old
  • High School: must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Education: must complete 60 hours of education course “Principles in Real Estate”
  • Exam: must pass the State and National Portions of the salesperson examination. Exam fee is $60

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements and exceptions, please contact the Virginia Real Estate Board.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •