Property Management requirements in West Virginia

Must West Virginia property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (leasing, managing and renting) are considered real estate activities under existing West Virginia real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease, rent, manage, or list real estate, or negotiate or attempt to negotiate to perform any of those acts, or if he or she holds herself out as engaging in any of those activities, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a West Virginia property manager hold a real estate broker's license?

YES. For example, any person employed exclusively to act as the management or rental agent for the real estate of one person, partnership or corporation is exempt. In addition, regular employees of an owner of real estate, who engage in leasing, managing and renting are also exempt if those acts are incidental to the management of the real estate and the employees do not receive additional compensation for the act.

For more information about these and other West Virginia property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the West Virginia Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your West Virginia rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of West Virginia property managers using the Arello Real Estate License Verification Tool.

West Virginia Community Association Management Licensing

There is no requirement that a community association manager or condo association manager in West Virginia hold a real estate broker's license.

West Virginia Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

West Virginia real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years old
  • High School: must be a high school graduate or equivalent
  • Education: must submit proof of completion of 90 clock hours in commission approved real estate courses
  • Experience: must have been licensed for at least two years as a salesperson
  • Exam: must pass the broker exam

    West Virginia Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

    West Virginia real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years old
  • High School: must be a high school graduate or equivalent
  • Education: must submit proof of completion of 90 clock hours in commission approved real estate courses
  • Exam: must pass the salesperson exam

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements and exceptions, please contact the West Virginia Real Estate Commission.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •