Property Management Laws by State

Property Management Laws in Florida

Must a Florida property management company have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (renting and leasing) are considered a real estate activity under existing Florida real estate licensing laws. A property manager needs broker license if he or she is paid by commission, and is handling rentals and leases for others. No license is required for managing personally owned properties. There is not a "Property Manager" license or certificate. Also, certain rental properties need a license through the Div. of Hotels and Restaurants.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Florida property manager have a broker's license?

YES. For example, if a property owner employs someone to manage their property, and that employee is paid a salary, as opposed to being paid a commission or on a transactional basis, a broker's license is not required.

For more information about these and other Florida property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Florida Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Florida rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Florida property managers at the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation's Licensee Search webpage.

More Property Law: Evictions & Security Deposits

Looking for more property law information? You can find an exhaustive collection of state eviction and security deposit laws on our parent company's website. Click the below link to be taken to Buildium's legal database.

Must Florida community association managers have a real estate broker's license?

No. However, a Community Association Manager license is required if someone receives compensation for providing management services for the following types of associations:

  • An association with ten or more units
  • An association with a budget of $100,000 or greater

For more information on the Community Association Manager license, please contact the please contact the Florida Real Estate Commission.

Florida Real Estate Broker License Requirements

Florida real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: Must be at least 18 years of age
  • High School: Must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Experience: Must have held a current real estate sales associate license for at least 24 months during the 5 year period immediately preceding becoming a licensed broker
  • Education: Successfully complete a Florida Real Estate Commission approved pre-licensing course for brokers, consisting of 72 classroom hours and covering specified topics. Courses are valid for licensure purposes for two years after completion. In addition, successfully complete a FREC-approved post-licensing course for brokers, consisting of 60 classroom hours before the initial broker license expires.
  • Exam: Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination with a grade of at least 75
  • Fee: $115 ($20 application fee; $90 license fee; $5 unlicensed activity fee)
  • Application: Complete and submit broker license application which is available online

Florida Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements

Florida real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: Must be at least 18 years of age
  • High School: Must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Education: Successfully complete a Florida Real Estate Commission 63-hour sales associate course
  • Trustworthiness: Must be of good moral character; must have a background check and submit fingerprints
  • Exam: Pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Examination with a grade of at least 75
  • Fee: $105
  • Application: Complete and submit sales associate license application which is available online

Florida Community Association Manager License Requirements

Florida community association manager licensing requirements include:

  • Age: Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Education: Must complete at least 18 hours of pre-licensure education from an approved provider
  • Trustworthiness: Must be of good moral character; must have a background check and submit fingerprints
  • Exam: Pass the CAM exam. The exam fee is $73.00
  • License fee: $105
  • Application: Complete and submit CAM license application which is available online

For more information about these and other Florida licensing requirements, please contact the Florida Real Estate Commission.

Find Property Managers Near You
We work tirelessly to find the best property managers so you don’t have to. Please see our recommended property management companies below for your area or filter by property and zip for a perfect match.
Select Property Type
  • HOME / CONDO
    • Single Home or Condo (Valued up to $300K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($300K to $500K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($500K to $1 Million)
    • Single Home or Condo (Over $1 Million)
  • APARTMENT
    • Multi-Family (2-4 units)
    • Multi-Family (5-19 units)
    • Multi-Family (20-99 units)
    • Multi-Family (100+ units)
  • HOA
    • Homeowners Association (2-49 units)
    • Homeowners Association (50-99 units)
    • Homeowners Association (100+ units)
  • COA
    • Condominium Association (2-49 units)
    • Condominium Association (50-99 units)
    • Condominium Association (100+ units)
  • COMMERCIAL
    • Retail (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Retail (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Retail (100,000+ sqft)
    • Office (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Office (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Office (100,000+ sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (100,000+ sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (100,000+ sqft)
    • Parking Garage
    • Biotech/Mission-Critical
  • SHORT-TERM
    • Vacation (1-2 units)
    • Vacation (3+ units)
  • OTHER
    • Other Associations (Hotel, Resort etc.)
    • Mobile Home Community
Find Property Managers Near You
Select Property Type
  • HOME / CONDO
    • Single Home or Condo (Valued up to $300K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($300K to $500K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($500K to $1 Million)
    • Single Home or Condo (Over $1 Million)
  • APARTMENT
    • Multi-Family (2-4 units)
    • Multi-Family (5-19 units)
    • Multi-Family (20-99 units)
    • Multi-Family (100+ units)
  • HOA
    • Homeowners Association (2-49 units)
    • Homeowners Association (50-99 units)
    • Homeowners Association (100+ units)
  • COA
    • Condominium Association (2-49 units)
    • Condominium Association (50-99 units)
    • Condominium Association (100+ units)
  • COMMERCIAL
    • Retail (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Retail (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Retail (100,000+ sqft)
    • Office (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Office (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Office (100,000+ sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (100,000+ sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (100,000+ sqft)
    • Parking Garage
    • Biotech/Mission-Critical
  • SHORT-TERM
    • Vacation (1-2 units)
    • Vacation (3+ units)
  • OTHER
    • Other Associations (Hotel, Resort etc.)
    • Mobile Home Community