Property Management Laws in Nevada
Must Nevada property management companies have a real estate broker's license?
Yes. Property management is expressly considered a real estate activity requiring a real estate broker's license under existing Nevada real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease, rent, list, collect rents, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, he or she will need either a salesperson's OR broker's license. In addition, he or she must obtain a property manager permit.
Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Nevada property manager have a real estate broker's license?
YES. For example, no broker's license is required if the property manager does not engage in leasing activities, or if they are strictly on-site managers.
For more information about these and other Nevada property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Before hiring a property manager to manage your Nevada rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Nevada property managers at the Division's online license lookup webpage.
More Property Law: Evictions & Security Deposits
Looking for more property law information? You can find an exhaustive collection of state eviction and security deposit laws on our parent company's website. Click the below link to be taken to Buildium's legal database.
Nevada Community Association Management Licensing
Effective January 1, 2008 Nevada community association managers and condo association managers must be certified by the Commission for Common Interest Communities.
For more information about the CAM License, please contact the Commission for Common Interest Communities, which is a division of the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Nevada Property Management Permit Requirements
Nevada property management permit requirements include:
- Experience: Show proof of having a Nevada real estate license;
- Education: Show proof of attending an accredited 24-hour Property Management pre-permit course
- Exam: Show proof of passing the Nevada Property Management state examination within one year of date of application.
Nevada Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements
Nevada real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:
- Education: must show proof of completion of 90 hours or 6 semester units of instruction in real estate principles, practices and law an approved provider
- Exam: Applicants must show proof of passing the national and Nevada state exam within one year of the application date
Nevada Real Estate Broker License Requirements
Nevada real estate broker licensing requirements include:
- Education: Must show proof of completion of 64 semester units of instruction. Broker license applicants who hold a valid real estate salesman's license may receive credit for the equivalent of 16 semester units of college level courses for each two years of active experience as a licensed real estate salesman or broker.
- Experience: Must have been actively engaged as a full-time licensed real estate broker or salesman for at least two (2) of the four (4) years immediately prior to the issuance of a Nevada Broker license.
- Exam: Must show proof of passing the national and Nevada state exam within one year of the application date.
Nevada Community Association Manager Certification Requirements
Those involved in common interest community management must obtain a CAM certificate. Requirements include:
- Education: 60 hours
- Exam: Must pass state examination. Fee is $100.
- Application: must be completed and submitted along with fingerprint cards, certificates of courses attended, certificate of passing the exam; application fee is $200.
The CAM certificate is valid for two years.
For more specific information about licensing, including forms, can be found at the Division's Licensing webpage.
- HOME / CONDO
- Single Home or Condo (Valued up to $300K)
- Single Home or Condo ($300K to $500K)
- Single Home or Condo ($500K to $1 Million)
- Single Home or Condo (Over $1 Million)
- Multi-Family (2-4 units)
- Multi-Family (5-19 units)
- Multi-Family (20-99 units)
- Multi-Family (100+ units)
- Homeowners Association (2-49 units)
- Homeowners Association (50-99 units)
- Homeowners Association (100+ units)
- Condominium Association (2-49 units)
- Condominium Association (50-99 units)
- Condominium Association (100+ units)
- Retail (Up to 9,999 sqft)
- Retail (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
- Retail (100,000+ sqft)
- Office (Up to 9,999 sqft)
- Office (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
- Office (100,000+ sqft)
- Warehouse/Distribution (Up to 100,000 sqft)
- Warehouse/Distribution (100,000+ sqft)
- Light Manufacturing (Up to 100,000 sqft)
- Light Manufacturing (100,000+ sqft)
- Parking Garage
- Vacation (1-2 units)
- Vacation (3+ units)
- Other Associations (Hotel, Resort etc.)
- Mobile Home Community