Property Management requirements in Missouri

Must Missouri property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Leasing has always been considered a real estate brokerage service under Missouri real estate licensing laws. However, until 1988, when the Missouri Real Estate Commission began requiring the use of trust and escrow accounts in property management, there was little consistent enforcement. If a property manager is going to lease, rent, list, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Missouri property manager have a broker's license?

YES. For example, the requirement does not apply to people, businesses or lessees managing their property, or to their regular employees. In addition, a license is not required of people hired to manage real property, as long as they are limited to certain activities, such as receiving and delivering leases and lease applications, showing units under the broker or owner's instructions, and engaging in administrative or clerical tasks.

For more information about these and other Missouri property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Missouri rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Missouri property managers at the Missouri Real Estate Commission's License Search.

Missouri Community Association Management Licensing

There is no requirement that a Missouri community association manager or condo association manager hold a real estate broker's license.

Missouri Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

Missouri real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Trustworthiness: must provide evidence of being fingerprinted
  • Experience: hold a current and active Missouri salesperson license for at least 24 of the last 30 months immediately preceding the application for license
  • Education: Certificate of Satisfactory Completion from a 48-hour pre-exam broker course from an accredited Missouri real estate school on or before the exam date
  • Exam: both portions of the Missouri broker exam
  • Application: complete application for the license must be submitted within six months of the completion date of the 48-hour pre-exam broker course

    Missouri Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    Missouri real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Trustworthiness: must provide evidence of being fingerprinted
  • Education: Certificate of Satisfactory Completion from a 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course from an accredited Missouri real estate school on or before the exam date
  • Exam: both portions of the Missouri salesperson exam
  • Application: complete application for the license must be submitted within six months of the completion date of the salesperson course

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements, please contact the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •