Property Management requirements in Ohio

Must Ohio property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (leasing and renting) are considered real estate activities under existing Ohio real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease, rent, list, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, or if he or she operates, manages or rents any building or portions of buildings to the public as tenants (other than a custodian, caretaker or janitor) he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that an Ohio property manager have a broker's license?

YES. Limited exceptions apply. For example, property owners are exempt.

For more information about these and other Ohio property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Commerce Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Ohio rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Ohio property managers using the License Lookup function.

Ohio Community Association Management Licensing

There is no requirement that a community association manager or condo association manager in Ohio hold a real estate broker's license.

Ohio Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

Ohio real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • High School: must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Experience: must have been actively engaged as a licensed real estate salesperson for an average of thirty hours a week for at least two of the last five years (including having been involved with at least 20 transactions)
  • Education: Ohio's education requirement for becoming a real estate broker is one of the more rigorous. Applicant's must show proof of having taken the following courses:
    • 40 hours of prelicensing Ohio Real Estate Law
    • 40 hours of prelicensing Ohio Real Estate Principles and Practices
    • 20 hours of prelicensing Real Estate Appraisal
    • 20 hours of prelicensing Real Estate Finance
    • A Financial Management course
    • A Human Resources or Personnel Management course
    • An Applied Business Economics course
    • A Business Law course
    • And, a minimum of two years of post-secondary education, or equivalent hours of (60) sixty semester or (90) quarter hours.
  • Exam: must pass the real estate broker examination
  • Fee: application fee is $100

Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

Ohio real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • High School: must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Education: applicant's must show proof of having taken the following courses:
    • 40 hours of prelicensing Ohio Real Estate Law
    • 40 hours of prelicensing Ohio Real Estate Principles and Practices
    • 20 hours of prelicensing Real Estate Appraisal
    • 20 hours of prelicensing Real Estate Finance
  • Exam: must pass the real estate salesperson examination
  • Sponsorship: must be sponsored by an Ohio broker
  • Fee: application fee is $60

For more information about these and other licensing requirements, please contact the Commerce Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing. Information specific to real estate licensing can be found on the Real Estate Resources webpage.

IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

Property Management Requirements Main Page