Property Management requirements in Texas

Must Texas property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (leasing and renting) are considered real estate activities under existing Texas real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease (or list for lease) real estate, or negotiate or attempt to negotiate for the lease of real estate, or aid in locating real estate for lease, control the acceptance or deposit of rent from a resident of a single family residential property unit, or if he or she holds herself out as engaging in any of those activities, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Texas property manager have a real estate broker's license?

YES. For example, salaried employees of property owners need not have a real estate license for managing or leasing property owner by his or her employer.

For more information about these and other Texas property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Texas Real Estate Commission.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Texas rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Texas property managers using their Licensee Info Search tool.

Texas Community Association Management Licensing

There is no requirement that community association managers and condo association managers in Texas hold a real estate broker's license.

Texas Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

Texas real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be 18 years of age or older
  • Citizenship: must be a US citizen or lawfully admitted alien
  • Residency: must be a legal resident of Texas
  • Experience: must have at least 4 years of experience in Texas as a licensed real estate salesperson or broker during the 5 year period immediately preceding filing the application; and must demonstrate qualifying experience per Commission guidelines
  • Education: must successfully complete 270 classroom hours of core real estate classes; must show an additional 630 hours in related courses acceptable to the Commission (this is satisfied by a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university).
  • Fee: Application fee is $375.50; plus $10 for Recovery Trust Account
  • Trustworthiness: Fingerprints must be submitted; and investigation of the applicant's background

    Please note that Texas law prohibits license renewal if a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation.

    Texas Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    Texas real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be 18 years of age or older
  • Citizenship: must be a US citizen or lawfully admitted alien
  • Residency: must be a legal resident of Texas
  • Education: must successfully complete 150 classroom hours of classes specified by the Texas Real Estate Commission; must also complete four semester hours in core courses or in related courses acceptable to the Commission (a bachelor's degree of higher satisfies this requirement)
  • Fee: Application fee is $143; plus $10 for Recovery Trust Account
  • Trustworthiness: Fingerprints must be submitted; and investigation of the applicant's background

    Please note that Texas law prohibits license renewal if a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation.

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements and exceptions, please contact the Texas Real Estate Commission. Specific information about Texas real estate licensing is available online.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •