Property Management requirements in Wisconsin

Must Wisconsin property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (leasing and renting) are considered real estate activities under existing Wisconsin real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to negotiate, or offer to negotiate the rental of an interest in real estate, or promote the rental or leasing of real estate, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Wisconsin property manager hold a real estate broker's license?

YES. For example, any custodian, janitor, employee or agent of the owner or manager of a residential building who exhibits a residential unit therein to prospective tenants, accepts applications for leases and furnishes such prospective tenants with information relative to the rental of such unit, terms and conditions of leases required by the owner or manager, and similar information, is exempt.

For more information about these and other Wisconsin property management requirements and exceptions, please contact the Wisconsin Real Estate Examining Board.

Before hiring a property manager to manage your Wisconsin rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Wisconsin property managers using the Wisconsin License Lookup Tool.

Wisconsin Community Association Management Licensing

There is no requirement that a community association manager in Wisconsin hold a real estate broker's license.

Wisconsin Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

Wisconsin real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Education: must complete 36 hour broker pre-license education, and must have completed 72-hour salespersons pre-license education within past 5 years
  • Exam: must pass the broker's exam
  • Application: must apply for broker's license within one year of passing the exam.

    Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

    Wisconsin real estate Salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Education: must complete 72-hour salespersons pre-license education
  • Exam: must pass the salesperson's exam
  • Application: must apply for salesperson's license within one year of passing the exam.

    For more information about these and other licensing requirements and exceptions, please contact the Wisconsin Real Estate Examining Board. Specific licensing information for brokers and salespeople is available online.

    IMPORTANT: This information is intended for informational purposes only and under no circumstances should it be considered legal advice or relied upon without first confirming its contents with your state real estate commission. Laws are updated frequently, and this information may not reflect the current law in your state. To confirm the specific requirements for each state, please contact your state real estate commission.

    Property Management Requirements Main Page

  •